Day 6: “Mountaintops”

Poetry

a momentous scene you are;

a transient summit I’m sure to pine

and on your decline I may deviate

from the lithic path contrasting so

the seamless slope I climbed to you

with unwavering steps, a luminous view

but the peak, more daunting in my wake

is fixed not in longevity.

with flacid limbs, a jaded heart

the ground is met with no amore;

all strife willfully mislead and

given no avowal.

what visions had of mountaintops;

how but I keep my trek?

and so upon new brilliant heights

my journey begins again.

Copyright © 2015 Maddy Stillman
Leave a Reply

