Day 16: “Quiet in the Library”

Poetry

with all your stories

all your tales and fantasies

I saw a library of a person

holding too many books to total;

their pages tearing

their binding creasing

from being read and

shared and borrowed

by anyone who desires;

but I sensed another book

or even a chapter

never to decorate the shelves

buried bare, untouched;

and perhaps I was selfish

for wanting to be the first

to lay a finger on its pages

with hopes the ink is

too dry to stain;

I may not have

such a grand collection

and my own literature

could never compare

but won’t you allow me

the pleasure of reading yours

and you can read mine.

One thought on “Day 16: “Quiet in the Library”

Leave a Reply

